Computing Then, Now and in the Future – 1987

As my christmas present to the world, I present an essay written by my seventeen-year old self way back in 1987 as part of my A-level General Studies.  I found this during my recent house move.

I have to admit I didn’t do the typing, my mother worked through her lunch hours for what she now says was weeks, but was probably in fact only a couple of weeks.  I also suspect that against the rules, she also tidied up some of the grammar.

Computing Then, Now and in the Future

Twenty-two years on, I don’t think it holds up too badly.  Of course I didn’t predict the Internet (though it would have been around in 1987, it was only for universities and the www wasn’t even a glimmer in Tim Berner’s-Lee’s eyes.

Of course, one thing completely missing from this is any form of referencing. My bad!

Read, enjoy, and if you use any of this in your research, please ensure that you reference it!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

