The closest I come to an impulse purchase

I know that for ages I’ve been talking about a Christmas gadget purchase.  This was going to be a laptot, and I looked at both the Acer Aspire One, and the Asus EEE 900 in some depth.

But playing with a friend’s first generation iPod touch last week convinced me that this would be the gadget of choice, and as I type, a New Apple iPod touch 32GBis winging its way to me.  Any discount Amazon offered by purchasing it from them was mitigated by paying extra for Express Delivery, but it should guarantee delivery tomorrow, when I know I’ll be in to receive it.

Why an iPod touch?  Haven’t you already got three other players (A candy stick 1st Gen shuffle, small green 2nd Gen shuffle, and a 30 GB iPod ‘classic’?

Let’s be clear, the fact that the iPod plays music is only a small part of what attracts me to it.  As a streaming media device (anywhere near a wi-fi signal, such as home or when out and about using OpenZone hotspots) with email, internet, instant messaging and Apple’s incredible build quality and support all persuaded me.  Plus, I’m hopeful that the BBC iPlayer will run at a decent speed even over my soggy bit of string connecting my broadband.

Plus it looks sooooo cool.  Of course I’ll be scared of using it in the wild for the first few months, to the point that I ordered the leather protection case for it days before I ordered the item.

I’ve gone for the largest size memory not for the music, but for the movies which I want to store, and I’m sure the application space will very quickly fill up.

Delivery tomorrow, so let’s hope Amazon do their bit (with nearly 9 quid for delivery charge, they’d better!)

2 comments so far

  1. Dominic Nielen-Groen on

    Good to see that you finally made your mind up! Look forward to hearing your thought about the ipod touch.

  2. Andy Hollyhead on

    Thanks Dominic. The leather case arrived today, looking forward to having something to put in it.


Leave a Reply

