Side Effects may include….

No post yesterday, it was all a little frantic with doctors, health check-up, teaching, picking up prescriptions, then last, but not least, entertaining friends last night (great night, and for once I didn’t drink too much red wine!).

The doctor was helpful, and has prescribed a new type of medication for me to take for one of my ‘bad heads’, which frequently come with nausea or vision problems, i.e. migraine.  Like any sensible person though I’ve looked up Naramig on the web, and on Wikipedia it comes with this list of side effects –

Side effects include: dizziness, drowsiness, tingling of the hands or feet, unusual tiredness, nausea, dry mouth and unsteadiness. If these effects persist or worsen, notify your doctor promptly. Side-effects which are unlikely and which should be promptly reported include: chest pain/pressure, throat pain/pressure, unusually fast/slow/irregular pulse, one-sided muscle weakness, vision problems, cold/bluish hands or feet, stomach pain, bloody diarrhea, mental/mood changes, and fainting. In the unlikely event you have a serious allergic reaction to this drug, seek immediate medical attention. Symptoms of a serious allergic reaction include: rash, itching, swelling, severe dizziness, trouble breathing.

I think I’d rather have the headache!

There’s no knowing how I’ll feel when I take tablets… but I won’t take one if I know I’ve got to drive home from anywhere for at least a few hours.  I’m back next week for a range of blood tests (something my friend can give me pointers on!)

One thing which the doc did mention which I’m very remiss about is drinking enough liquid… coffee prices at university have meant I’ve reduced my intake there, so I have bought a ‘trendy’ water bottle which I’ll ensure I keep topped up… assuming the water coolers at work keep working.

Working from home today, and the to-do list is growing, not sure I’ll get it all done and all of it is ‘urgent’ (for a given definition of urgent).  Better carry on and stop checking to see if I’ve a headache’s coming on.

Not yet….

Not yet…

Not yet….

1 comment so far

  1. […] usual (how do people know this).  A bad one can wake me up, as I was at 3am this morning.  My new ‘miracle’ tablets, Naramig have done the trick for the last two headaches, but I woke […]


Comments are closed.

