Objectivity

An interesting session today, when students quesioned my objectivity in carrying out research in blogging, because I am a regular blogger myself.

Interestingly, one of the reasons that I started blogging a while back was that I was challenged at a conference why I didn’t maintain my own blog, having encouraged my students to consider the positive benefits of the process.

I’m trying to draw some analogies.  At one extreme, would you expect an ex-alcoholic to provide a completely unbiased view of the dangers of alcohol consumption.  But would someone who enjoys a couple of bottles of wine a week (as I do) provide a ‘better’ view of the issue?

My blogging experiences, and indeed this blog have featured in my research.  It’s only by blogging that I recognised the four categories of blog posting (diary, reflection, advice, rant), which I’ve now passed onto other students.  Blogging has got me into the habit of writing something regularly, which is generally seen as a good habit for creative writing.  The very act of writing also helps me have a more balanced view on what’s happening in my work life and outside.

I’ve always recognised that a blog is life-limited though.  I’m coming up to my second anniversary here, and maybe that’s the time for me to say ‘enough’… or I could turn the public viewing of the blog off, and maintain is much more as a personal diary.  Some of my friends manage to successfully blog on a week by week basis, others do daily, and some even more frequently than that.

But it’s still here, and I’m enjoying the blogging experience, and getting over a hundred hits a day at the moment.

