Juggling

The best-laid schemes o’ mice an ‘men
Gang aft agley,
An’lea’e us nought but grief an’ pain,
For promis’d joy!

A long day yesterday, including over three hours in my car going to and from work and Harborne.  Half an hour was spent within 100 yards of the university car park, Fresher’s Fayre chaos was worse than usual.  I think it’s time I tried letting the train take the strain again.  The time of the year where I head back in the dark, and leave home in the dark appears to have come earlier this year than I can remember it.  Can’t wait until the clocks change (remember, Spring back, Fall forward), or is it the other way round?

Today is the big induction day.  Originally I was ‘simply’ giving a talk on the Essentials website which I had a hand in developing a few years back.  But I’ve now got to step into the briefly vacated ITMB shoes and take them through the day (and tomorrow, for returning students).

So for the second time this year I’m suited and booted (well, tied anyhow).  It’s a little nerve-wracking being thrown into this sort of thing, especially as last year’s induction was very stressful, but I’ll do my best.

I have a couple of things to look forward to, continuing the ‘outsourcing my life‘ theme, I should return home to find my garden looking less like an overgrown jungle and more like an english country cottage garden – or something like that.

And I’ve finally managed to order a Wii fit for delivery tomorrow, just in time for me not to be there for the weekend.  Still, it’s got to be better for me than Lego star Wars, I can see why people can become a little obsessed about playing games.

