My nomination for the Booker Prize

I curled up last night (well, splashed around in the bath to start with, but that’s probably too munch info) to start reading Me and Mickie James by Drew Gummerson.  I’ve mentioned in the past that I’ve admired his work, and I particularly like that his current book was developed in part through ABCtales.com, where one of my stories was selected for their e-magazine in Spring 2008.

At one am this morning I finished reading it.  It really is a great read, and I’m not just saying that because on Facebook I’m down as Drew’s stalker!  The story ‘goes’ somewhere (quite literally around the world), and all of the characters, however briefly they appear in the story, are well constructed, and you do really start to feel the emotions for both Mickie James and the unnamed narrator.

If you don’t believe me, see what other people have said about the book.

So go on, buy a copy, or even two (as my friend already has!).  It’ll make you smile even in this foul weather… though be warned, there are a couple of naughty bits if you’re thinking of buying it for your mother for Christmas!

