Archive for September 6th, 2008|Daily archive page

Dropbox Invite

I’m still leading a more nomadic life than usual, so it was fortunate that this morning my long-awaited invite to Dropbox beta arrived.

This differs from other file send/receive files which I’ve used in the past, such as Dropsend and even Windows Live SkyDrive in that it provides a seamless integration with your native filing system.  This makes ‘cloud storage’ much more practical.  I’ve loaded it onto my two Mac’s with no problems, and on Monday will also try and connect it to my Windoze machine at work.  There’s also a linux version.

At the moment, dropbox is a closed beta, but I do have ten invitations which I can send.  I’ll keep comments open on this thread – just post a comment (no need for your email address in the comments, as I’ll pick this up in th email), and I’ll get the invite sent to you.  The free storage is ‘only’ 2Gb, but this is the first service where I would be tempted to buy extra storage… when they make payments available (I guess when it leaves Beta).

