HotUKDeals, Quidco… and a plea for help!

How much would you expect to pay for the stash of six books below, delivered yesterday?

They’re all a fiver each at my local Marks and Spencer.  The total cost to me, courtesy of HotUKDeals and Qudico was in fact, -£1.50 inclduding delivery, i.e. it’s possible that I will receive £1.50 for ordering these books.

Here’s how it worked.  The books were reduced by 80% anyhow, so that would have been a good enough bargain.  But offer codes published by HotUKDeals allowed a further 20% of the ‘top line’ cost, bringing the cost down to £0.  Another voucher allowed free delivery on orders over £30, which this would have been if I’d paid full price.

But then, ordering through quidco I get 5% cashback – I’m not too sure that this will go through, but it’s been tracked.

They’re an eclectic mix, but ones which I’m determined to read, as I start my Advanced Creative Writing class next month it’s important that I read other genres.

And what’s the Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy doing there, especially as my party trick is to recite whole chunks of this book which I read so many times as a kid?  I intend to give this book away, but this is where I need your help.  I remember there was a website where you could register a book which you then let ‘loose’ in the world, and people can report where they found the book. Can anyone remember the name of the website?  I’ll leave comments open for this posting if anyone can help.

1 comment so far

  1. Andy Hollyhead on

    Thanks to Simon, we’ve got the answer (unfortunately I closed comments so he couldn’t post here).

    “The site you are looking for I think is http://bookcrossing.com/

    Thanks Simon!


Leave a Reply

