One culture, one mind

The original title of this blog reflected that originally I was intending to compare and contrast the working and teaching of my ‘day job’ with that of my ‘evening’ job, i.e. lecturer in a post-92 university, and the Open University.

Times move on, and over the last 20 months the blog has evolved.  Much less about my day to day work, more about technology and the challenges of being a some-time web worker.

I received confirmation whilst I was away that my request to take a one year sabbatical from the Open Unviersity has been approved.  This means that I will not be tutoring my two courses (T320/T324) for their 2009 presentation.  I can still be involved in staff development and open events, but there will be no tutoring.  I have the option if I wish to return in 2010, subject of course to student numbers.

So from October, I will be ‘one culture, one mind’ – but I don’t think I’ll change the title of the blog.

Why have I done this?  I’ve tutored with the Open University for nine years, across four very different courses.  It’s given me a really wide breadth of teaching diverse students.  Taking this year out will provide the chance to see if there’s something else which I can do with the time.  I’ve already entered two creative writing competitions this month, and have another prepared, just need to find time for the final edit.

And I’m still studying Advanced Creative Writing starting September, so we’ll see where that leads.

