Preparing a lecture

As mentioned before, I’m changing the focus of one of the modules I teach to bring it up-to-date, replacing a somewhat obscure project management technique with scrum, a much more contemporary process.

I’ve allocated two weeks to this.  The first week inevitably has to be a ‘chalk and talk’ powerpoint-type session, though with inevitable breakouts and exercises.  This morning I’ve been mind-mapping the content of this lecture, from notes made over the last month.

I’m really finding mind42 a great online tool – and I’m now using it for all my mapping over the (generally) excellent open source solution FreeMind, simply because of the flexibility and ease of use.  It’s not too complex, and exports into a wide range of formats – see below (click to embiggen as usual)!

I should note that Tony Buzan, who coined the word mind map, would not recognize the above as a mind map.  This is a fair comment, in his excellent book ‘Use your head’ which is in my bookshelf here at home (and there are loads of copies in the university library I’m pleased to note) he states these laws.

  • Start with a coloured image in the centre
  • Images throughout your Mind Map
  • Words should be printed
  • the printed word should be on lines, and each line should be connected to other lines
  • One word per line
  • Use colours throughout
  • The mind should be left as free as possible

From the mindmap above, I have an almost ready-made lecture structure, which maps well to PowerPoint Keynote.  Adding the graphics, and in-class activities and we’re there.

As mentioned, this is the first lecture.  The second session will be much more hands on, taking an idea from the Scrum Alliance, and running a scrum project in just 90 minutes in-class, with daily scrums held every ten minutes, and a presentation at the end.  As long as students participate, it could be very effective.

Right, enough procrastination.  It’s a lovely evening out there, but I’m in Keynote mode – let’s get prepping!

