Archive for June 6th, 2008|Daily archive page

Streaming iTunes movie rentals

You can’t!

That would have been a short posting wouldn’t it?  Still, it sums up a snag which I really didn’t think I would have.

I downloaded the movie to Big Mac, my iMac desktop, taking six hours rather than the anticipated five hours, but I just left it there.  Then last night I took my MacBook to bed, to watch it through FrontRow, in the same way that I listen to downloaded music.

No luck, it simply doesn’t appear in the list of Movies.

I didn’t have chance to see if it was visible in iTunes, it was late and I was tired.

If I have misunderstood how and where I can watch movie rentals and downloads, then it really is a troublesome limitation.  I can ‘sort of’ see why they don’t allow this, the last thing that you want is to be sharing your iTunes library and for someone to watch your downloaded video.

I’m going to do some digging to see if the same thing happens with Apple TV – I’ll keep the comments thread open to see if anyone has any ideas on this.

