Motivation

It’s been hard to get motivated the last few days.  I’ve been busy, marking (as always), seeing students and generally getting the job done, but there’s a huge pile of dissertation marking which is on my desk that try as I might I can’t get my head round.

It will get sorted, and I’ll take some home so that I can try marking from home and see if I can get more inspired there.

The key is, I know, to JFDI – standing for Just Flaming Do It.  It’s this approach which gets me started on any unpleasant task, from mowing lawns to… marking assignments.

Of course the irony is that I teach motivational theory, and pontificate about Theory X and Theory Y workers (and the newfound theory Z workers).

Maybe I should develop the concept of a theory W worker.

