Free wi-fi at McDonalds UK

I’m ‘up norf’ near Port Sunlight, talking to Unilever today.  I’m early, so have popped into the closest McDonalds to use their free wi-fi connection which is now available in all Mc D’s in the UK.

This isn’t generally known, and I wouldn’t have been aware of it if I hadn’t had a placement student involved in the rollout project.  I’ve used it a couple of times, and there’s never been a problem… simply provide your name, email address and home postcode for regulation purposes.  The connection speed here is an impressive 2.5 Mbps, so I’ve taken the chance to download some missing programs for my MacBook.

Because so few people know about it there’s no issue with contention or slow downloads – I’m the only one in the restaurant apart from four policemen – that’s what I call security).

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

