Quick cam connect – a quick (cam) update

I’ve been meaning to blog for a while about my experiences with the Logitech QuickCam Connect which I bought a while back.  I’ll post some pictures over the Christmas break, when I’ve got time to do a compare and contrast with my old web cam, but overall I’ve been really pleased with it.

The in-built software works well, and  I’ve had web-chats with others using MSN Messenger with few problems.  One thing that the camera seems to do particularly well is work in low light, being illuminated by a low voltage room-based light bulb is fine.

Two minor snags, one which I can work out fairly quickly, the other is due to the age of the machine.  I’ve not got the in-built microphone to work yet, but I think that’s because I’ve not identified it correctly.  The other is the relatively slow refresh rate, but that is because it’s connected to a USB 1.1 port.  I’m planning to upgrade my machine over Christmas to have four x USB 2.0 ports, so this should solve the problem.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

